Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM) won the first and second prize in Kuala Lumpur Orchids and Bonsai show 2017 hosted by Kuala Lumpur City Hall or DBKL at Taman Pudu Ulu, Cheras. There are three competition teams with a group of five (5) students who are the fourth year, third year and second-year students from Landscape Architecture Department, Faculty of Built Environment was coordinated by Dr Lee Yoke Lai together with two supporting staff (En. Hassan bin Sahat and En. Mohd Azahari bin Md Amin).

All participants have to construct the designed garden from 28 to 30 November 2017. Two teams with the design concept: ‘The Reflexia and Meraki’ won the first prize and second prize competing with five (5) other groups. Both UTM teams have selected colourful orchids integrated with the competition theme ‘warna-warni Malaysia’ to create an interesting and unique garden layout that symbolised multi-ethnics, diverse cultural and peaceful in Malaysia. Another UTM team will be awarded a consolation prize which interpreted “Laman Ikatan Citra” to emphasise the beauty of orchid’s garden design.

The prize-giving ceremony was held on 3rd December 2017. All the entries were given RM3, 500 incentives by DBKL in the orchid competition. As well as, alumni sponsorship of Institute of Landscape Architecture Southern Chapter (ILAM SC) had contributed to students’ financial support in this competition. In all, the hard work, design innovation and good team working have contributed to the inclusiveness performance and success in this university orchid’s competition.

Again, congratulation on the great achievement by Department of Landscape Architecture with attains a glory to UTM.

First prize: The Reflexia (Laman Pantulan)

Mohammad Sabar Bin Mustaffa

Muhammad afiq harith bin zulkhairi

Nur Aqilah binti Mohd Noordin

Muhamad Taqiy Bin Asshaari

Muhamad Zulhelmy Bin Azmi

Second prize: Meraki

Aimi Norhanani binti Nordin

Nurul Aqilah binti Ramli

Nurul Asyiqin Binti Hasdi

Natasha Binti Nasiumin

Nur Izzati Hanani Rosli

Consolation prize: Laman Ikatan Citra

Amirul Naim Bin Mohd Sani

Mohd Amirul Jasmeen Bin Razak

Mohd Amiruk Hazim Bin Arifin

Muhd Atiqi Bin Mustapa

Mohd Irfan Bin Joohari