The Faculty was initially established in 1970, which was then known as the Faculty of Architecture. In 1974 it became the Faculty of Built Environment which now comprises the Departments of Architecture, Quantity Surveying, Town and Regional Planning and Landscape Architecture. Currently these Departments offer Bachelor of Architecture, Bachelor of Quantity Surveying, Bachelor of Urban and Regional Planning, Bachelor of Landscape Architecture and Bachelor of Science in Construction. The programmes are designed to provide a firm academic base and professional expertise in the respective disciplines. At the same time, the programmes give great emphasis on the development of students’ generic skills and technical capabilities. These programmes would create highly employable graduates in the local and global market.

All the undergraduate programmes conducted by the Faculty are recognised by the Public Department of Malaysia and accredited by the respective governing boards or local as well as international professional institutions relevant to the programme.


Be internationally recognise excellent center for educating professionals in the field of built environment.


To lead in the education of professionals and research in the field of built environment.


  • To produce competent graduates in the field of Built Environment who are responsible towards the Creator and the mankind.
  • To become the faculty of choice and centre of reference in the field of Built Environment.

  • To contribute towards sustainable development of the nation through research, consultancy services and smart partnership activities.